The architect Horodeytskogo Street is located in a historical area Lipki in Pechersky district in Kiev. It leads from Khreshchatik to the IvanaFranko Square.
It appeared in 1895 as a result of new architectural city plan. It was led on the spot of former residence of one of the Kiev University’s professor. It had a different name back then – Nikolaevska, to honor the Emperor Nikolay II. The street was created by architects: G.Shleifer, E.Bradtman and V.Horodetsky. From the very beginning it was laid with high quality paving blocks.
By 1897 the city was completely finished. Many houses were built there – residential houses as well as buildings for other purposes – hotel Kontinental, the building of the Rabotnik society, the furniture plant Kimaera. In 1903 the first 2 storey building of the circus was created on the side of this street. Krutikov Circus is the first 2 storey circus in Europe. Little by little till the beginning of XX century the architecture of the street got so beautiful and unique that people began to call this area Paris in Kiev.
This street is really very unique and it doesn’t have any resemblance traits with any other street in Kiev.
In 1919 the street got a different name – Karla Marksa Street – that was changed only in 1996.
During the years of World War the street was seriously damaged. The building of the Krutikov Circus was destroyed as well as many other beautiful constructions on this street (houses #1, 2, 3 where Horodetskiy used to live himself). All the other houses were seriously damaged by the fire. Some of them were restored. The building of the Kontinental hotel was partially restored. On the spot where used to be the Krutikov circus the new cinema Ukraina was built in 1964. Unfortunately it isn’t in the same style as the rest of the buildings on this street.
On March 12, 1996 the street got its current name by the order of the city authorities.
Nearest metro stations: The Independence Square, Khreshchatik.